Review – Highly Illogical Behavior

highly-illogical-behavior

Title: Highly Illogical Behavior
Author: John Corey Whaley
Publication: May 10th 2016 by Dial Books
Genre: YA, Contemporary
Pages: 256 pages
Format: Library book
Rating: 5/5

Sixteen-year-old Solomon is agoraphobic. He hasn’t left the house in three years, which is fine by him.

Ambitious Lisa desperately wants to get into the second-best psychology program for college (she’s being realistic). But is ambition alone enough to get her in?

Enter Lisa.

Determined to “fix” Sol, Lisa steps into his world, along with her charming boyfriend, Clark, and soon the three form an unexpected bond. But, as Lisa learns more about Sol and he and Clark grow closer and closer, the walls they’ve built around themselves start to collapse and their friendships threaten to do the same.

Shelf it on Goodreads

 

So here’s the alphabetical run down:

Characters

I adored the characters in this book! The chapters alternated point-of-views between Lisa and Solomon. Lisa’s character honestly reminded me a bit of Hermione, all ambition and confidence, and that’s about the highest compliment I can give a character. I will say that Lisa’s character is not extremely likable, but I enjoyed the consistency of her personality, that the her decisions were realistic based on how Whaley had written her character.

Solomon was the biggest surprise, I just loved him. I expected him to be less relatable, but he shocked me (and Lisa) by being fun and witty, while also being an agoraphobe.

Clark’s character was perfectly written.  He is genuine and makes admirable choices and I don’t feel like I expected how important his character was going to be to the story.

Solomon’s parents, unlike a lot of YA fiction parents, were supportive of Solomon while maintaining a great relationship with him and actually being there for him as parents.

Cover

I’m not a fan of this cover. It’s too busy and until you read the book you don’t understand what’s going on. I believe the picture is supposed to be Solomon looking out of his garage that he has painted to look like the holodeck on Star Trek: The Next Generation into the world where he sees the Enterprise.  I thought at first that this might hint that Solomon had schizophrenia as well, but that’s not the case.

Love

This storyline does not revolve around a romance at all. There are complicated relationships between Lisa, her boyfriend Clark, and each of their separate friendships with Solomon, but it is not primarily a romance at all.

Pros/Cons

One of the big pros of this story to me was that the pop culture references all revolved around Star Trek: The Next Generation. I was a child in the 90’s, grew up watching Star Trek, and married a huge Star Trek fan (yes, we are dorks), so I not only understood the references, I thought they were hilarious. I think the average YA fiction reader may not share this interest and therefore may not enjoy the book as much.

There is honestly nothing at all I would change about this book, which is why I feel like it deserved 5 hearts. I loved Whaley’s writing style, respected the plot choices he made, and feel like the story didn’t go the predictable route. I started making predictions as the plot progressed and my predictions didn’t end up correct and I always enjoy when an author makes unexpected decisions that end up well for their characters.

Quotable

“All he was doing was living instead of dying. Some people get cancer. Some people get crazy. Nobody tries to take the chemo away.”

“Some people sign on for the impossible. And they’re the ones everybody remembers.”

“We’re just floating in space trying to figure out what it means to be human.”

Rating

This is definitely a niche book; it is not for everyone, but it was most definitely for me.

red-heartred-heartred-heartred-heartred-heart
library-sig

2 thoughts on “Review – Highly Illogical Behavior

Leave a Reply

