Review – Wink Poppy Midnight

wink-poppy-midnight

Title: Wink Poppy Midnight
Author: April Genevieve Tucholke
Publication: March 22nd 2016 by Dial Books
Genre: YA, Mystery
Pages: 247 pages
Format: Library book
Rating: 3/5

Every story needs a hero.
Every story needs a villain.
Every story needs a secret.

Wink is the odd, mysterious neighbor girl, wild red hair and freckles. Poppy is the blond bully and the beautiful, manipulative high school queen bee. Midnight is the sweet, uncertain boy caught between them. Wink. Poppy. Midnight. Two girls. One boy. Three voices that burst onto the page in short, sharp, bewitching chapters, and spiral swiftly and inexorably toward something terrible or tricky or tremendous.

What really happened?
Someone knows.
Someone is lying.

Shelf it on Goodreads

 

So here’s the alphabetical run down:

Characters

I really admire Tuckolke for writing from three very different characters’ perspectives.  Wink is the quirkiest of quirky red heads in overalls, who speaks in fairy tales and has a million and one siblings she fondly calls “the orphans.” Poppy is the meanest of all mean girls, all blond hair and angelic looks and swishy too short summer dresses and definitely one of the most manipulative characters I’ve read about in a long time. Midnight, well he’s somewhere between realizing that he shouldn’t have ever loved Poppy and figuring out if he loves Wink. Their characters definitely change throughout the book, but telling you about how they change would ruin the mystery.

Cover

I love this cover! The black background and fairy tale looking illustrations and the odd lettering of the title fit the story just perfectly.

Love

There is romance in this story and although it’s central, it doesn’t overwhelm the mystery, it just makes the mystery all the more intriguing.

Pros/Cons

I read this book in two sittings in one day.  It’s a quick read and it begs to be quickly read. The chapters are short and although the language is poetic, it’s not a difficult read at all.  I will say that I don’t read a lot of mysteries, so I have to go the route of a lot of other reviewers and compare this book to E. Lockhart’s We Were Liars. They have the same eerie quality about them, not scary, but you know that something is just off the entire time you’re reading.

The reason that this book lands at three hearts even though I really did enjoy the writing and the characters was the conclusion, or lack there of. In the end, when the mystery was no longer a mystery, the story just didn’t seem to go anywhere. Although, I felt the same way about We Were Liars, but in that book the mystery seemed more surprising to me.

Quotable

“I never cried, not even as a baby. My parents said it was because I was such a sweet little angel, but my parents are fools. I never cried because there are only two reasons people cry, one is empathy and the other is self-pity, and I never had any of either.”

“The hayloft is where events happen and plots unfold and I wanted events to happen and plots to unfold.”

“I wished Midnight’s heart was hidden far away in a distant lake. I wanted to stand guard over it. I wanted to cast magic spells and train dragons to protect it. I wanted to make sure it would be safe until happily ever after.”

“We were like the three fates, weaving the story together, threads of gold, red, and midnight blue. There would be wolves and tricks and lies and cunning and vengeance in our story. I would make sure of it.”

Rating

Enjoyable, quick read that I will probably actually remember quite a bit of, but it just didn’t go anywhere in the end.

red-heartred-heartred-heart
library-sig

2 thoughts on “Review – Wink Poppy Midnight

Leave a Reply

