Review – It’s All Your Fault

its-all-your-fault

Title: It’s All Your Fault
Author: Paul Rudnick
Publication: January 26th 2016 by Scholastic Press
Genre: YA, Contemporary, Comedy
Pages: 294 pages
Format: Library book
Rating: 3/5

My name is Caitlin and up until forty-eight hours ago I had never:

Tasted alcohol, kissed a boy, sang in public at the top of my lungs, kidnapped anyone or—WHAT? STOLEN A CONVERTIBLE?

Now I’m in jail and I have no idea what I’m going to tell:

The police, my parents, the mayor, all of those camera crews and everyone on Twitter.

I have just noticed that:

My nose is pierced and I have—WAIT? IS THAT A TATTOO?

I blame one person for this entire insane weekend:

My famous cousin.

Who is also my former best friend.

Who I have HATED for the past four years.

Who I miss like crazy. NO I DON’T!!!!

IT’S ALL YOUR FAULT, HELLER HARRIGAN!!!!

Shelf it on Goodreads

 

So here’s the alphabetical run down:

Characters

So if you’ve ever wondered what it would be like if Miley Cyrus hung out with one of the Duggars for the weekend (oh, and by the way, they are cousins and were best friends growing up), this is the book for you! Heller Harrigan’s character is basically a Hollywood wild party girl who grew up playing Anna on Anna Banana (a nod to Hanna Montana), and who also happens to be the lead in a new Twilight/Hunger Games-esque movie called Angel Wars.

The book is written from the perspective of Caitlyn Singleberry, who’s family is a cross between the Duggars (hello, big family with same first letter names) and the Brady Bunch (hello, singing family with homemade costumes). Reading all of the experiences throughout the book from her perspective is hilarious.

Sophie is a 13-year-old girl with cancer who gets to spend the day with Heller as her wish with the Make-A-Wish Foundation. I found her character to be really quite annoying. She has a lot of long monologues and the way that she speaks is exhausting.

Cover

I typically don’t like covers with pictures of peoples faces because I think that it limits the reader imagining what the people in the book look like.  However, I don’t mind the picture of Heller on the front of this cover, but it didn’t really pull me in. The pictures inside the dust jacket of both Heller and Caitlyn together are actually better.

Love

There isn’t a romantic relationship in this book, despite the line in the summary about Caitlyn having “kissed a boy” that’s really all it is.  The friendship (or lack thereof) between Heller and Caitlyn is the main focal point of the book.

Pros/Cons

This book is a parody of a lot of things, which makes it fun to try to pick out all of the pop culture references. I did love, along with all of the humor, that in the end there was purpose and meaning to the story and both Heller and Caitlyn grew and changed from spending time together again.

There is a very large amount of profanity in the book, but it doesn’t seem to just be  unnecessarily thrown around, it definitely fits the characters. There are also quite a few things that could be considered offensive in the book. However, I am a Christian, but I understood that the book was meant to be a parody and didn’t take offense to what was said.

 

 Quotable

“I’m here” I continued, “to guide you into the light of truth, decency and perhaps pants.”

“As far as I could tell, having a best friend was dangerous because a best friend knows everything about you. No one can hurt you like a best friend.”

“It’s like facing a firing squad, only the executioners don’t have guns, they have Twitter accounts. Death by hashtag.”

Rating

The concept was original and definitely entertaining, but nothing more than that. Much like a gossip magazine, it’s not a book I would pick up to read again.

red-heartred-heartred-heart

library-sig

Leave a Reply

